About Central Vigilance Commission

The Central Vigilance Commission was initially set up through Resolution No. 24/7/64 -AVD dated 11th February 1964 of Government of India, on the recommendations of Committee on Prevention of Corruption formed under the Chairmanship of Shri K. Santhanam.  

2. Central Vigilance Commission was set up with the aim to exercise superintendence over vigilance administration of the organisations in respect of which the executive powers of Government of India extended.  It was conceptualized as an apex Integrity Institution, having complete independence and autonomy in its functions.  Central Vigilance Commission has been mandated to advise the authorities concerned in respect of an act of improper conduct or corrupt practices, along with review and modification of procedures and guidelines, which may afford scope for corrupt (practices).  

3. In September 1997, the Central Government constituted an Independent Review Committee to suggest measures for strengthening anti-corruption activities.  The Review Committee suggested that statutory status should be given to the Central Vigilance Commission.  Subsequently, the Supreme Court of India vide its Order dated 18th December, 1997, in Criminal Writ Petition No. 340-343/93 in the case of Vineet Narain & Others Vs. Union of India & Others (commonly known as Jain Hawala Case) gave directions to Government of India to confer statutory status upon the Central Vigilance Commission.  

In order to comply with the directions of the Supreme Court, the following Ordinances were promulgated, giving statutory status to Central Vigilance Commission :-  

 (i) The Central Vigilance Commission Ordinance, 1998 (Ord. 15 of 1998 dated 25.08.1998); and

 (ii) The Central Vigilance Commission (Amendment) Ordinance, 1998 (ord. 18 of 1998 dated 27.10.1998).  

 (iii) The Central Vigilance Commission Ordinance, 1998 (Ord. 4 of 1999 dated 08.01.1999).  

4. Later on, the CVC Bill was passed by both Houses of Parliament in 2003 and received the assent of the President on 11.09.2003.  The CVC Act of 2003 (45 of 2003) came into effect from that date.

Central Vigilance Commission consists of a Central Vigilance Commissioner as Chairperson and not more than two Vigilance Commissioners as Members.  

5. During the hearing of Writ Petition No. 539/2003 relating to the murder case of Shri Satyender Dubey, the Supreme Court desired that a suitable machinery should be put in place for acting on complaints from ‘whistle blowers’.

In accordance with the Supreme Court’s directions, Government of India issued Public Interest Disclosure and Protection of Informers’ (PIDPI) Resolution No. 371/12/2002-AVD-III dated 21.04.2004 authorizing the Central Vigilance Commission as ‘Designated Agency’, to receive written complaints from Whistle Blowers on any allegation of corruption or of mis‐ use of office by any employee of the Central Government or of any corporation established by or under any Central Act, Government Companies, Societies or Local Authorities owned or controlled by the Central Government.